BrianRxm Masonic Coins and Tokens 1/16
Royal Arch Chapter Pennies - General Information
Prev Back Next
The "Masonic Coin", "Masonic Token", "Masonic Penny", "Masonic Chapter Penny", or "Mark Penny",
is a coin or token made and used by some Masonic lodges.
They are given to members during initiation ceremonies or meetings.
The "Royal Arch Masons" almost always issue Masonic Pennies to their members.
These are specialized Masonic lodges sometimes called "York Rite Masons".
The lodges sometimes use the abbreviation "R.A.M." on their pennies.
Most of the Royal Arch chapters have disbanded.
They are usually 30mm to 35mm in diameter, similar in size to the old pre-decimal English penny (31mm).
They are manufactured by the lodges or by commercial minting or Masonic regalia companies.
Most have generic designs and the names of the chapters on them.
Some have the Biblical Ark of the Covenant on them, an important Masonic symbol.
The "HTWSSTKS" emblem means "Hiram of Tyre, Widow's Son, Sent To King Solomon".
The triangle Triple Tau emblem is the emblem of Royal Arch Masonry.
A reference is the small book Masonic Chapter Pennies by Dr. B. P. Wright of Buffalo, New York
which is a printing of articles he wrote for The Numismatist magazine from 1901 to 1903.
California San Francisco Bay Area
California Delta Region
California Gold Country
United States West
United States North and MidWest
United States East
United States South
Prev Back Next